The Books We Read

Home » Discipleship » Quitter: Closing the Gap Between Your Day Job & Your Dream Job

Quitter: Closing the Gap Between Your Day Job & Your Dream Job

DownloadedFile

Quitter by Jon Acuff

“I wanna ___________ when I grow up!” is a statement we all made.  It’s Halloween time when kids all over the place will dress up like the roles they hope to play later in life.  After years the statement changes to “I’m a _________, but I want to be a ______________.” Jon Acuff’s book Quitter is part how-to, part biography, that challenges the reader to better understand how to transition from the job they are in now to the job they hope to have someday.  John, only recently transitioned into his dream job, spent years trying to balance what he felt he was created to do and what he had to do to feed and house his family.  Jon’s book Start was his challenge to begin utilizing gifts and talents in a way that would bring fulfillment and a greater sense of purpose.  Quitter is about finding more time to embrace them.

This book did a couple things for me personally.  First off, it completely changed the way I view my current job situation.  When I was let go from youth ministry in a Church, I was completely lost as to the next step.  Luckily the school that I had been partnering with offered me a job as a para.  Most para’s are gifted and qualified for many things, I, however, am not.  I am a babysitter, the only one at the school I am at.  Everyone else has a niche, a certain job, I take unmotivated kids and sit next to them the entire day, trying to get them to get a pencil out.  I dislike a lot of it.  Acuff, however, is completely devoted to “falling into like” with the current job and helps his cause by bringing up many positives about keeping a 9 to 5 instead of quitting to follow your dream.  I have great insurance, a quitting time (unlike ministry), and the perfect place to understand middle schoolers and how they think.  I am “falling into like” with my job.

Secondly, he devotes a significant amount of time to helping the reader define what their dream job is.  He cites many times that a dream job is taken captive by tangental responsibilities and requests.  It is often in pursuit of a dream job that the things that were once thought to be part of it actually fight against it.  Defining what it is that we aspire too will keep our dream job in sight and eliminating the extra stuff.

Finally, the thing that stuck out to me most in this book was the passion in which he talked about “hustling”.  His greatest piece of advice was “to hustle” meaning do the little things.  His advice was both practical and inspiring.  Getting up early and spending time practicing.  Putting out good work, because you will never feel great about everything.  Taking time to invest in your craft and learning from others.  He didn’t go into great detail probably because he knew Start would come out.  But still, his words about “hustling” helped make the book a great read.

So don’t quit your day job, keep hustling, and fall into like with your current job.  Make every second at your current job a chance to learn something about your dream job and be patient.  That is what Acuff did and why his book is so perfect for a man in my situation.

Leave a Reply

